SPORTS Q&A: Alexis Haywood ready to get back to campus

by Todd Thomas

Alexis Haywood chases down a loose ball during a March 2020 playoff game. She hopes to get back to in-person learning and the basketball court as soon as possible. Photo credit: Todd Thomas

The basketball season had just concluded for Alexis Haywood and the Truman women’s basketball team last March, so the 2020 basketball campaign wasn’t disrupted by the coronavirus pandemic–related shutdowns. But the campus did close for in-person learning, meaning Haywood, like all CCC students, would have to adjust to remote learning. She spoke to the Uptown Exchange about her experiences taking classes from home.

Q: Now that remote learning has entered its third full semester have you adjusted to it?

Alexis: No, not really. For some students it’s just better to be in class, to learn in person. I’m one of those students, and it’s just really not comfortable for me. It hasn’t affected my grades, though, and I’m still passing all of my classes.

Q:  How do you think things would be better if classes were still in person?

Alexis: I am a visual learner, so I just like the feeling of being in class. It’s easier to understand subjects, and even something like watching a teacher write something on the board is easier to understand in person. And you’re able to do more interesting things in class like watching documentaries and other things that make class more interesting.

Q: What is your study arrangement like at home? Where do you study, and what type of device do you use?

Alexis: When I’m in class on Zoom I work in my room or I sit at the table in my dining room or just somewhere that’s comfortable. There’s not a lot of distractions, but I do have two young nieces. One is 3-years-old, and the other is just 1-month-old. The three-year-old can be a noisy, so I just keep my door closed. When I’m on Zoom I use my phone, or I use my sister’s computer if I have to write a paper. But my phone is usually all I need because I really don’t like carrying a laptop around, and I can get my notifications easier on my phone.

Q: Who do you reach out to for extra help when needed?

Alexis: I check in with the coaches every Friday, and coach J (Joel Jaye, Truman’s assistant athletic director) has been helping me a lot. He knows that I’m trying to get to the next level and play basketball at a four-year college, so he knows what I’m trying to do, and we’ve really bonded.

Q: How have you been able to stay motivated without sports?

Alexis: It hasn’t been easy, but I’m looking forward to playing next year, and I have heard that there will be a season then. I want to play again, and I need to be seen by the coaches at some of the schools I want to go to. I need to keep playing and get better so I can go to a four-year school and play basketball and study. Without sports, I rely on my support system to keep me motivated.

Q: When was the last time you were on campus, and what do you miss most about it?

Alexis: I haven’t been on campus since March of last year. It would be good to go to the writing center, but it’s closed, and I don’t think they’re letting people in the building. And not being able to go to the gym and work out and stay in shape is another thing. I’m looking forward to the pandemic ending or at least slowing down and the building opening again.

Your comments, please